Sidetracked

Okay. One of the reasons I’m running behind on posts around here is because I’ve just been accepted into a doctoral program and my brain is a splode. Which is okay, really, because while there’s detritus and neural shrapnel hanging around, I’m still relatively in control of things.

It just means other things fall a bit by the wayside. (I aim to finish up my travel recap by the end of this month.) So I try to take care of these things piecemeal, here and there, as time allows. One of those things is continuing to fill in the Ars Magica campaign I’m still planning on running.

And to that end I have found The Medieval Bestiary, which has totally made my week. Not only does it help engender a medieval atmosphere in the thinking that I’m doing, the beasties are absolutely fantastic. Even the mundane ones. For instance, the pelican kills its young and revives them with its blood.

But for real fun, I’ll leave you with the Bonnacon (also known as a bonasus). This will somehow make an awful, awful appearance sometime. I’ll be sure to relate the results.

About incognitiously

A published author and a produced playwright, I'm someone who spends most of my time thinking about stories, writing them, reading them, watching them or hearing them. In short, I make stuff up, unless the truth is even better. And even then it's an iffy proposition. Currently researching the dialogic nature of transmedia storytelling for a Doctorate of Creative Industries at the Queensland University of Technology. View all posts by incognitiously

Leave a Reply

