Why I post so rarely here.

I love The Oatmeal. I usually read it when I should be doing other things. Like work, and stuff. This sounds like I’m leading into a post about procrastination — but I’m not. Surprise!

Nope, I’m talking about The Oatmeal because he’s got one of the best explanations about why some things get put off.

See why some e-mails go unanswered. Go on, I’ve set it to open in a new tab/window.You can come right back when you’re done. –Or, you can get lost linking to other really funny stuff and then vaguely remember that you were reading something here a couple of hours ago.

Right. I get all hung up on being professional about things, about making sure I’m polished and well-considered about what I put on here. And that takes time and concentration, which I’m very bad at doing in uninterrupted amounts. So things get put off. And the more things get put off, the more embarrassed I am to start them back up again. Painful cycle, sort of self-perpetuating, really.

And since I still can’t wrap my brain around time management, I’ll just have to let things out in to the ether in a state that I feel is less than polished. I’ll do my best to keep the grammar reasonable and typos to a minimum. But the point of a blog is to share thoughts, and sometimes, too much polishing eats the thought up whole and leaves nothing behind except questions and a bit of doubt. (And there’s another reason I don’t post here as often: I don’t think I’ve got ideas that are worth sharing. Silly, I know.)

Maybe the process of writing a blog more consistently will address these things. Maybe they’re things I need to grow out of.

But in the meantime: “Wow, no, I never got your e-mail! So sorry I didn’t write my blog!”

About incognitiously

A published author and a produced playwright, I'm someone who spends most of my time thinking about stories, writing them, reading them, watching them or hearing them. In short, I make stuff up, unless the truth is even better. And even then it's an iffy proposition. Currently researching the dialogic nature of transmedia storytelling for a Doctorate of Creative Industries at the Queensland University of Technology. View all posts by incognitiously

Leave a Reply

